Aurora – Towards Modern and Innovative Higher Education

Logo_colour_web%5b1%5d.jpg eu_flag_erasmusmu%5b1%5d.gif

Erasmus Mundus (EMA2) Aurora consists of two consecutive years’ financed projects: Aurora – Towards Modern and Innovative Higher Education (Aurora I) and Aurora II – Towards Modern and Innovative Higher Education (Aurora II). Aurora awards scholarships for EU citizens to Russia, and for citizens of Russia to EU. 

Erasmus Mundus is an EU funded cooperation and mobility programme in the field of higher education that aims to enhance the quality of European1 higher education and to promote dialogue and understanding between people and cultures through cooperation with Thirdcountries. The programme promotes institutional development in the field of international cooperation and internationalization of partner universities by awarding grants for students, researchers, teachers and other staff. 


Project aims at promoting university-business cooperation in the Consortium. Aurora builds on an agenda of higher education institutions and business benefiting from working together. In this context, universities need to develop partnerships with enterprises in order to be able to respond better on the demands of markets.

Aurora develops management capacity of Partner Universities e.g. sharing good practices on mobility and mobility administration; creating transparent, democratic and open administration processes that enhance mutual responsibility and accountability in the decision-making processes; and improving transparency and recognition of studies and qualifications. 

For the participating institutions Aurora will include increased capacity for international cooperation and modernization; transfer and sharing of knowledge and innovations between education institutions and business; foster universities’ role in regional economy; long-term partnerships and profitable opportunities. 

Implementation period 

Aurora – Towards Modern and Innovative Higher Education: 15.07.2012 — 14.07.2016 Aurora II – Towards Modern and Innovative Higher Education: 15.07.2013 – 14.07.2017 

European partners
Russian partners:

University of Turku, Finland – coordinator (Aurora I, II)

University of Bologna, Italy (Aurora I, II)

University of Deusto, Spain (Aurora I)

University of Groningen, the Netherlands (Aurora I, II)

Humboldt University Berlin, Germany (Aurora I, II)

University of Latvia, Latvia (Aurora I, II)

University of Leuven, Belgium (Aurora I, II)

Masaryk University, Czech Republic (Aurora I, II)

University of Tartu, Estonia (Aurora I, II)

University of Warsaw, Poland (Aurora I, II)

Kazan (Volga Region) Federal University, Russia – co-coordinator (Aurora I, II)

Higher School of Economics, Russia (Aurora I, II)

Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University, Russia (Aurora I, II)

Northern (Arctic) Federal University, Russia (Aurora I, II)

North-Ossetian State University, Russia (Aurora I, II)

Novosibirsk State Technical University, Russia (Aurora I, II)

Pacific National University, Russia (Aurora I, II)

Russian State University for the Humanities, Russia (Aurora I, II)

St. Petersburg State University of Economics and Finance, Russia (Aurora I, II)

Udmurt State University, Russia (Aurora I)

North-Eastern Federal University, Russia (Aurora II)

Mari State University, Russia (Aurora II)

Aurora, Aurora II and Triple I Dissemination Event 21.04.2015

Call for Applications:


Contacts at NArFU:
Olga Nizhevich,
Department of International Cooperation
Tel.: +7(8182)412827
More information: Aurora website

Updated 27.04.2015